Buddhism A–Z
What is the Dharma Wheel (Dharmachakra) in Buddhism?
Photo by godongphoto on Shutterstock

The dharma wheel, (Sanskrit, dharmachakra; Pali, dhammacakka) is a widely used Buddhist symbol representing the teachings of Buddhism and the Buddhist path to enlightenment

The dharma wheel is usually depicted with three parts: the hub, the spokes, and the rim. The hub represents discipline, essential for progress along the path. There are typically eight spokes, representing the elements of the Buddha’s Noble Eightfold Path: right (or wise, or skillful) view, intention, speech, action, livelihood, effort, mindfulness, and concentration. The outer rim symbolizes the cycle of birth, death, and rebirth (samsara) and the possibility of liberation from this cycle.

Sometimes the dharma wheel is depicted with a hand at the center, either turning the wheel or holding it steady. This represents the Buddha’s “turning the wheel of dharma” — sharing the path to enlightenment with others.

Buddhism A–Z

Explore essential Buddhist terms, concepts, and traditions.