Listen to “Compassion,” from the Dalai Lama’s new album, Inner World

A new 11-track album featuring His Holiness the Dalai Lama reciting mantras and leading short teachings will be released on July 6.

Rod Meade Sperry
10 June 2020

The Dalai Lama’s 85th birthday, July 6, will see the release of Inner World, a new, 11-track album featuring His Holiness reciting mantras and leading short teachings. Listen to the first released track, “Compassion,” which features the famous mantra Om mani padme hum, below.

The mantra invokes Chenrezig (Avalokiteshvara), the bodhisattva of compassion.

Net proceeds from Inner World will benefit The Dalai Lama Foundation’s chosen programs, Social, Emotional and Ethical Learning, and the Mind & Life Institute.

1. One of My Favorite Prayers
2. The Buddha
3. Compassion
4. Courage
5. Ama La (featuring Anoushka Shankar)
6. Healing
7. Wisdom
8. Purification
9. Protection
10. Children
11. Humanity

Watch the album trailer here:

Rod Meade Sperry. Photo by Megumi Yoshida, 2024

Rod Meade Sperry

Rod Meade Sperry is the editor of Buddhadharma, Lion’s Roar’s online source for committed Buddhists, and the book A Beginner’s Guide to Meditation: Practical Advice and Inspiration from Contemporary Buddhist Teachers. He lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia, with his partner and their tiny pup, Sid.