Buddhism A–Z
What is Equanimity (Upekkha) in Buddhism?

Equanimity is one of a series of four transcendent virtues developed by meditation practitioners. They are known as the four limitless ones, or the four divine abodes (Pali: brahmavihārā). Equanimity is the fourth in the series and refers to a profound quality of strength and evenness of mind undisturbed by emotional upheavals. It is characterized by a quality of not picking and choosing, but rather being content with what presents itself.

Equanimity emerges as a by-product of mindfulness practice and especially from the awareness and insight that mindfulness brings, which allows us to see our habitual thought processes and undercut them.

Related Reading

The Four Highest Emotions

Ayya Khema on cultivating loving-kindness, compassion, sympathetic joy, and equanimity.

How Equanimity Powers Love

True equanimity, says Kaira Jewel Lingo, is not in any way detached or uncaring—it's inclusive, and loving, and the foundation for spiritual courage.

How to Foster Equanimity: Sit Like a Mountain

Sharon Salzberg teaches on why equanimity is important, and how to foster it.

Buddhism A–Z

Explore essential Buddhist terms, concepts, and traditions.