Buddhist Basics

How to Read Dharma

Studying Buddhist teachings is different from learning other subjects. Judy Lief shows you how to read the dharma so that it really changes you.

Judy Lief

Buddhism by the Numbers

The Four Givings

Buddhism’s four immeasurables aren’t just states of mind we can achieve, says Venerable Hui Cheng. They’re gifts we can give to others.

What Are the Five Precepts?

How can Buddhists know if their life is an ethical one? By keeping the five precepts, a set of guidelines for those who wish to do no harm.

What Are the Four Noble Truths?

These four truths are called noble because they liberate us from suffering. They are the Buddha’s basic teaching, encapsulating the entire Buddhist path.

What Are the Two Truths?

What is the relationship between absolute reality and the relative world we inhabit? Mahayana Buddhism’s answer is called the two truths.

What Are the Six Realms?

The six realms are different forms of existence in which we can take rebirth, or psychological states we experience in the human realm.

What Are the Three Types of Suffering?

Suffering is the central problem that Buddhism addresses, and recognizing our suffering is the first step to its solution.

What Are the Three Jewels?

Buddhists take refuge in three different expressions of awakened mind. What are they?

What Are the Four Negations?

Take any pair of opposites. Madhyamaka logic looks at four possibilities and refutes them in turn, creating four negations.

What Are the Eight Consciousnesses?

Mahayana Buddhism breaks the mind into eight separate consciousnesses. What are they?

What Are the Six Transcendent Perfections?

In Mahayana Buddhism, the bodhisattva practices the six paramitas, or transcendent perfections.

Subscribe Now

Get unlimited access to LION’S ROAR plus exclusive subscriber collections including audio teachings and 20 free e-books.